Skip to content

Annually UIU acknowledges the outstanding efforts of faculty members who go above and beyond in teaching. Named after Roger and Alice Mangan, The Roger & Alice Mangan Excellence in Teaching Award is presented to as many as three faculty members (one adjunct faculty; one tenure-track faculty, instructor, or lecturer, and one tenured faculty).

UIU Alumni, Roger and Alice Mangan established the fund to recognize the outstanding teaching of UIU faculty members. A native of Chicago, IL, Roger Mangan graduated from UIU in 1962, with a Bachelor’s Degree in History. He was a wrestler and a 2014 Athletic Hall of Fame inductee, and currently serves on the UIU Board of Trustees. Alice (DeLong) originally from Maynard, IA, graduated from UIU in 1961, with a Physical Education degree in education; she helped organize UIU’s first drill team.

More Information

Nomination Qualifications

An online survey is sent to students who will nominate faculty members. This award focuses on teaching, not on credentials or content knowledge (staff are not eligible). Academic Affairs sends out the survey notification of the award and invitation to nominate faculty via the online survey on the second Monday in March. Nominations are due on the fourth Friday in March.

Award Process

The Faculty Development and Welfare Committee (FDWC) Chair notifies Faculty nominees by March 31 of their nomination; nominees are asked to send the FDWC Chair:

  1. Teaching/course evaluations for the current and previous academic years;
  2. A current CV.

Any current FDWC member nominated recuses themselves from the selection committee and secures a replacement from their school on the committee. The Chair of the FDWC will maintain all documents and records and provide access to the materials to the Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs (VPASA).

Recommendations to the VPASA are due by April 15 from FDWC; VPASA selects the recipients. Recipients are notified by the Office of Academic Affairs before the end of Session 4 and invited to attend Commencement to receive the award.

Previous Recipients


  • Carrie Hollister
  • Kim King
  • Sara Sheeley


  • Sue Burrack
  • Susan Massey


  • Nigel George
  • Isaiah Stansbery