Upper Iowa University appoints two professors emeriti

FAYETTE, Iowa (June 30, 2017) – Two recently retired professors with a combined 50 years of service to Upper Iowa University have been granted emeriti status by the school’s Board of Trustees.

Delano Professor of Science Dr. Rick Klann was named faculty emeritus and Professor of Mathematics Dr. Maureen Busta was named faculty emerita during the June meeting of the Board of Trustees. Klann was employed with the University for 28 years and Busta served 22 years.

“I would like to thank Dr. Busta and Dr. Klann for their many years of service to Upper Iowa University and for making an impact on so many student lives through their teaching and leadership,” UIU President William R. Duffy said.

Since joining the faculty at Upper Iowa University in 1989, Klann developed an interest in water quality and was funded by various private and governmental agencies to carry out water quality monitoring on small streams in northeast Iowa. In 1997, he was named Iowa Professor of the Year by the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching.

Busta has been a member of the UIU faculty since 1994. Her professional interests included working with the Iowa Council of Teachers of Mathematics, having served as both the treasurer and president of that organization.

About Upper Iowa University Founded in 1857, Upper Iowa University is a private, nonprofit university providing undergraduate and graduate degree programs to about 5,200 students–nationally and internationally–at its Fayette campus, 21 U.S. locations, as well as a location in Hong Kong. Upper Iowa University is a recognized innovator in offering accredited, quality programs through flexible, multiple delivery systems, including online and self-paced degree program. With a focus on developing leaders and lifelong learners, UIU provides dual enrollment programs for high school students as well as continuing education and professional development opportunities for learners of any age. For more information, visit uiu.edu.

Michael Van Sickle
Editorial Services Director
Office of Communication and Marketing
Phone 563-425-5326