Peacocks named to NSIC All-Academic Team

FAYETTE, Iowa (December 4, 2015) –Forty-three Peacock student-athletes were named to the Northern Sun Conference All-Academic Team for the 2015 fall athletic season. To be eligible for this honor, the student-athlete must be a member of the varsity traveling team and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.20 or better. Furthermore, the athlete must have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at her/his institution (true freshmen, red-shirt freshmen and ineligible athletic transfers are not eligible) and must have completed at least one full academic year at that institution.

All four of Upper Iowa's fall sports sponsored by the NSIC were represented on the team; including 18 from football, 13 from women's soccer, seven from volleyball and five from women's cross country. The 2015 honorees were as follows:

FOOTBALL: Jeremy Bacon, So., Hopkinton, Iowa; Dakota Basten, Jr., Waterloo, Iowa; Brady Beuschel, So., Juda, Wis.; Isaac Freese, So., Lanesboro, Minn.; Kolter Friedhof, So., Cresco, Iowa; Zachary Gardner, Jr., Adel, Iowa; Garrett Johnston, So., Linden, Iowa; Dylan Liebe, Jr., Toddville, Iowa; Joseph McCaffery, Jr., North Liberty, Iowa; Cody Nilges, Sr., Tripoli, Iowa; Vincent Otdoerfer, Jr., Strawberry Point, Iowa; Zachary Ries, So., Iowa City, Iowa; Nate Roemer, So., Streator, Ill.; Nate Skare, So., Spring Valley, Minn.; Cole Stephen, Sr., Manchester, Iowa; Quintin Taylor, So., Atkins, Iowa; Tate Thompson, Jr., Forest City, Iowa; Alex Van Gerpen, So., Garner, Iowa. 

CROSS COUNTRY: MeKenzie Coppage, Jr., West Point, Iowa; Paige Davis, Jr., Rock Falls, Ill.; Bethani Jacobsen, Jr., Wauconda, Ill.; Christina Neil, Sr., Fairbank, Iowa; Chandra Smith, Jr., Bloomfield, Iowa.

WOMEN’S SOCCER: Gina Britton, So., Rogers, Ark.; Madie Edwards, Sr., Crystal Lake, Ill.; Kaitlyn Emanuel, Sr., Byron, Minn.; Brianne Fenton, Jr., Crystal Lake, Ill.; Rachel Fowler, So., Kennoway, Scotland; Trina Gallagher, Sr., Cedar Rapids, Iowa; Mikayla Nassy-Wong, So., North York, Ontario; Maggie Olson, Jr., De Forest, Wis.; Nicole Poirier, Sr., Edgerton, Wis.; Charlotte Ryan, So., Baldock, England; Savannah Schinto, Sr., Spring Grove, Ill.; Lauren Sharp, Jr., Kansas City, Mo.; Mackenzie Taldone, Jr., Crystal Lake, Ill..

VOLLEYBALL: Chelsea Berry, So., Strawberry Point, Iowa; Sydney Cyzon, Sr., De Pere, Wis.; Jenna Hermsen, Sr., Masonville, Iowa; Kelsey Hinrichs, Jr., Swisher, Iowa; Jennifer Mundt, Sr., Utica, Minn.; Alisha VanderWoude, Jr. , Delton, Wis.; Taylor Williams, Sr., New London, Wis.

During the 2014-2015 athletic seasons, the Peacocks had 90 student-athletes honored with 46 recognized from the fall season, 17 more following the winter season and the final 27 receiving recognition in the spring.

About Upper Iowa University Founded in 1857, Upper Iowa University is a private, nonprofit university providing undergraduate and graduate degree programs to about 5,200 students–nationally and internationally–at its Fayette campus, 21 U.S. locations, as well as a location in Hong Kong. Upper Iowa University is a recognized innovator in offering accredited, quality programs through flexible, multiple delivery systems, including online and self-paced degree program. With a focus on developing leaders and lifelong learners, UIU provides dual enrollment programs for high school students as well as continuing education and professional development opportunities for learners of any age. For more information, visit

Michael Van Sickle
Editorial Services Director
Office of Communication and Marketing
Phone 563-425-5326