SCHOOL OF ARTS AND SCIENCES

Photo Name and Contact Info
 Edward Huffstetler Huffstetler, Edward – Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences (2016)
563-425-5241
huffstetlere04@uiu.edu
Ph.D., University of Iowa

Department of Biology and Chemistry

 Jeffrey Butikofer


Butikofer, Jeffrey
 – Professor of Chemistry (2005)
563-425-5265
butikoferj@uiu.edu
B.S., Upper Iowa University
Ph.D., University of Wyoming
 
 Scott Figdore Figdore, Scott – Professor of Science, Robert L. Fox Endowed Chair of Science (1992)
563-425-5223
figdores@uiu.edu
B.S., Pennsylvania State University
M.S., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
 William Jones Jones, William - Associate Professor of Biology (2012)
563-425-5903

jonesw@uiu.edu
B.S., Iowa State University
Ph.D., Baylor College of Medicine
 Erik Olson Olson, Erik – Professor of Chemistry (1994)
563-425-5220

olsone@uiu.edu
B.A., Juniata College
Ph.D., Dartmouth College
 Dave Ruppel Ruppel, David – Post-Doctoral Instructor of Biology (2019)
563-425-5245
ruppeld40@uiu.edu
B.A., Northern Michigan University
M.S., Ph.D., Texas State University
 Rebecca Schmidt Schmidt, Rebecca – Associate Professor of Biology (2013)
563-425-5905

schmidtr@uiu.edu
B.A., Lawrence University
Ph.D., Mayo Graduate School
 Sara Sheeley Sheeley, Sara - Associate Professor of Biology (2010)
563-425-5906

sheeleys@uiu.edu
B.S., University of Northern Iowa
Ph. D., University of Iowa
 Paul Skrade Skrade, Paul - Assistant Professor of Biology (2015)
563-425-5222
skradep74@uiu.edu
B.A., Luther College
M.S., Iowa State University
Ph.D., Iowa State University 
 Jennifer Stoffel Stoffel, Jennifer - Associate Professor of Biology (2009) 
563-425-5847

stoffelj@uiu.edu
B.S., Loras College
M.S., University of Wisconsin-Madison
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison

Department of Criminal Justice

 Tiffany Kragnes Kragnes, Tiffany – Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice (2014)
563-425-5882

kragnest96@uiu.edu
B.A., Iowa State University
J.D., Drake Law School
M.P.A., Upper Iowa University
 Isaiah Stansbery Stansbery, Isaiah – Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice (2018)
563-425-5854
stansberyi36@uiu.edu
B.S., B.A., Columbia College
M.S., Columbia College
D.B.A., Northcentral University

Department of Fine Arts & Communication Studies

Nicole Dennler  Dennler, NiCole – Full Time Term Lecturer of Communication (2014)
563-425-5908

dennlern@uiu.edu
B.A., Wartburg
M.A., University of Wisconsin - La Crosse
 Matthew Foy Foy, Matthew – Assistant Professor of Communication (2014)
563-425-5979

foym38@uiu.edu
B.A., Waldorf College
M.A., University of Northern Iowa
Ph.D., Southern Illinois University - Carbondale
 Laura Gleissner Gleissner, Laura – Assistant Professor of Art (2015)
563-425-5181
gleissnerl44@uiu.edu
B.A., University of Northern Iowa
M.A., Northern Illinois University
 Melle Starsen Starsen, Melle – Associate Professor of Communications (2000)
563-425-5300

starsenm@uiu.edu
B.S., Northern Arizona University
M.A., Northern Arizona University
Ed.D., Fielding Graduate University
 Elissa Wenthe Wenthe, Elissa – Associate Professor of Art, McCosh Professor of Fine Arts (2008)
563-425-5850

wenthee@uiu.edu 
B.A., University of Minnesota
B.F.A., University of Minnesota
M.F.A., Ohio University

Department of Geosciences, Geography and Mathematical Sciences

 Dana Bates  

Bates, Dana - Assistant Professor of Mathematics (2018)
563-425-5907
batesd90@uiu.edu 
B.S., University of Iowa
M.S., University of Iowa
Ph.D., University of Iowa

 Nigel George George, Nigel – Professor of Mathematics and Physics (2003)
563-425-5719

georgen@uiu.edu
B.S., University of Auckland
M.S., University of Auckland
Ph.D., Yale University
 Kata McCarville McCarville, Katherine – Professor of Geosciences, Delano Professor of Science (2005)
563-425-5233

mccarvillek@uiu.edu
B.S., University of California-Los Angeles
M.S., Colorado School of Mines
Ph.D., South Dakota School of Mines and Technology 
 Cheryl Northrop Northrop, Cheryl – Instructor of Mathematics (1991)
563-425-5269

northropc@uiu.edu
B.S., Upper Iowa University
M.Ed., Upper Iowa University
 Dennis Ruppe Rupp, Dennis – Instructor of Mathematics (2017)
563-425-5907
rupped51@uiu.edu
B.A., State University of New York
M.A., University at Buffalo
Ph.D., University at Buffalo

Department of Humanities

 Adrianne Finlay Finlay, Adrianne – Associate Professor of English (2008)
563-425-5792

finlaya@uiu.edu
B.A., State University of New York at New Paltz
M.A., Binghamton University
Ph.D., Binghamton University
 Meghan Jordan

Jordan, Meghan – Assistant Professor of English (2015)
563-425-5915
jordanm56@uiu.edu
B.A., Bard College
M.A., The University of Chicago
Ph.D., Binghamton University

 Jordan Thomas

Jordan, Thomas – Associate Professor of English (2013)
563-425-5242
jordant@uiu.edu
B.A., Providence College
M.A., Binghamton University
Ph.D., Binghamton University

 Douglas McReynolds McReynolds, Douglas - Bissell Professor of English (1980)
563-425-5212

mcreynoldsd@uiu.edu
B.A., University of Missouri
M.A., University of Missouri
Ph.D., University of Denver
 Mary Reding Reding, Mary – Writing Center Director and Full-Time Term Lecturer of English (2018)
563-425-5224

redingm98@uiu.edu
B.A., University of Northern Iowa
M.A., Iowa State University
 Nick Serra Serra, Nick – Professor of English (1999)
563-425-5210

serran@uiu.edu
B.A., University of Notre Dame
M.A., Drake University
Ph.D., Binghamton University
 Kathy Thomas

Thomas, Kathy – Lecturer (1992)
563-425-5367
thomask@uiu.edu
B.A., Upper Iowa University

Department of Psychology and Human Services

 Melinda Heinz Heinz, Melinda (Mindy) – Associate Professor of Psychology (2013)
563-425-5912

heinzm@uiu.edu
B.A., University of Northern Iowa
M.S., Iowa State University
Ph.D., Iowa State University
 Shelby Kaura Kaura, Shelby – Associate Professor of Human Services (2007)
Des Moines Center
515-225-1800

kauras@uiu.edu
B.A., Iowa State University
M.S., Iowa State University
Ph.D., Iowa State University
 Kimberly King King, Kimberly – Full-Time Term Lecturer of Counseling (2016)
319-232-6980
kingk@peacocks.uiu.edu
 Peggy Lockhart Lockhart, Peggy – Lecturer of Psychology (2019)
563-425-5911
lockhartp60@uiu.edu
B.S., University of Dubuque
M.F.C.S., Ph.D., Iowa State University
 Mitchell Lorenz Lorenz, Mitchell – Assistant Professor of Psychology (2018)
563-425-5916

lorenzm92@uiu.edu
B.A., Simpson College
M.S., Western Illinois University
Ph.D., Saint Louis University

Department of Social Science

 John Grummel Grummel, John – Associate Professor of Political Science (2008)
Milwaukee Center
414-475-4848
grummelj@uiu.edu
B.A., San Jose State University
M.A.T., College of Notre Dame
M.A., San Francisco State University
Ph.D., Kent State University
 Matthew Mettler Mettler, Matthew – Lecturer of History (2017)
563-425-5249
mettlerm77@uiu.edu
B.A., Gustavus Adolphus College
M.A, Stanford University
M.A, University of Iowa
Ph.D., University of Iowa 
 Meghan Mettler Mettler, Meghan – Assistant Professor of History, Maltbie Professor of Social Science (2014)
563-425-5751

mettlerm76@uiu.edu
B.A., Haverford College
M.A, University of Iowa
Ph.D., University of Iowa
 Nickie Michaud Mettler Michaud Wild, Nickie – Assistant Professor of Sociology (2019)
563-425-5919
michaudwildn09@uiu.edu
B.A., New York University
M.A., University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Ph.D., University of Albany
 Sara Reed Reed, Sara – Public Administration Director and Assistant Professor of Public Administration (2018)
563-425-5386

reeds71@uiu.edu
B.S., University of Minnesota
M.P.A., University of Nebraska
Ph.D., Northern Illinois University
 Roland Vazquez Vazquez, Roland – Professor of Social Science and Anthropology (2001)
563-425-5236

vazquezr@uiu.edu
B.S., Bucknell University
M.A., Rutgers University
M.Phil., Rutgers University
Ph.D., Rutgers University